Wine Blog Paralysis & Wine as Sabbath Enactment

I love to write.  I’m in a profession that writes a lot.  I write for work, I write for leisure, I write for introspection, I write to stay connected wtih people, I write to provoke thought and conversation.  I like a good computer keyboard and excellent fountain pens — tools for this practice of writing.  So blogging is a natural thing.

But sometimes I get paralyzed by the backlog of things I need to blog about and I end up not writing at all.  I’ve got a bunch of wine reviews from my Wine Ministry tastings at CTS that still need to get posted.  It takes a while to do those — reviewing my notes, carefully writing the review, formatting the entry, finding the label or bottle image, etc.  Sometimes it just doesn’t feel right to write other things with the task list undone.

So I was thinking…  I don’t drink wine everyday, but usually at least two or three nights a week I’ll enjoy a glass — with a meal or just sipping while unwinding from the day.  The “to do list” certainly isn’t done, but the glass of wine is almost an enactment of sabbath.  There is always work to be done, but sabbath is an intentional break from work and opportunity for attentiveness to things other than work.  For some of us the enjoyment and experience of wine is both a symbol and practice of sabbath.

Blogging, wine, and sabbath.  Here’s the connection:  the “need to do” things will always be there.  For most of us, particularly if we have slightest bit of compulsivity in our personalities, those things will get done.  But allowing for the gift of sabbath, a break from the routine of work, will nurture our souls, our minds, our bodies.  So I’ll get the reviews posted, but I’ll also take time to write other ideas, reflections, and musings.  I’ll open that “special occasion” wine just because it’s sabbath.  I’ll also extend the invitation to you to consider sabbath practices in the midst of your worlds of work, tasks, and things needing to get done.  Cheers!

3 Comments

  1. Hey Steve, there are lots of musings already here… and you might check out another of my blogs, revjavadude’s cafe (revjavadude.com). Thanks for reading! And hope you get a sabbath soon, too!

    Reply

  2. Hey guy!

    Hope you are well. I sent out the pictures a while ago (like July 16th) but was having huge trouble with the domain (building a new website) so it turns out things got undelivered. Realized this before, but like you, got busy…

    In the meantime enjoyed a nice cote du rhone the other night… okay, I gotta get a book and write these things down, becasue I can’t tell you a thing about it, although I could find out I suppose. ahhh another thing to do.

    Jim and I are heading off to Niagra on the Lake in October on a wine tour. I will be sure and have a book by then and give a full report!

    Godspeed
    Stephen+

    Reply

Leave a Reply

